Not 19

13100966_10206708145163350_2123451902_n

This sign has been popping up all over the place this past week. Just an advertisement, but one that has stuck out to me since the first glance.

Because I’m not 19 forever. That date is the day after my 20th birthday.

I’m not sure how I feel about being in the final hours of my ‘teens’. I certainly don’t consider myself a teenager anymore, but I don’t exactly feel like a tjugoåring either. My twenties were always these abstract, distant years where I’d get married, have kids and all that fun stuff. But it really isn’t abstract anymore. The years I always mentioned in passing are as close to me now as 2009 is away from us. It feels like they’re almost in arms reach. And that’s kind of scary.

But at least there’s a silver lining: now I’m officially “adulting”, people might actually start to take me seriously. One can always dream!

One thought on “Not 19

Leave a Reply

