Day 11: Mer framsteg!

Nyligen har jag varit lite tyst. Probably because every time I’ve gone to write something here, I’ve ended up writing it on italki instead. The allure of corrections and feedback is just too great, it seems!

Men jag vill skriva här också, så nu är jag tillbaka. Hej! Hur är läget?

I’ve got a few things I want to get down. Most I’ve already covered in my notebook, but I thought it might be good to write a bit in English as well. It’s still a lot easier to convey my thoughts in my native language, after all!

One big thing that’s happened in the last few days: I finally spoke! And it only took, y’know, almost two years. I still haven’t had a conversation per se, but I said a few sentences to J on Skype (after twenty minutes of hysterical sobbing I finally broke through the wall of anxiety) and then later on – in the middle of the night – I recorded myself speaking for a whole nine minutes. That might sound a little redundant, but I was talking as though I was speaking to him, and I emailed it to him the next morning.

When he called me yesterday before we went to sleep, he said that he’d listened to it. He said he was really proud of me and surprised at how good my spoken Swedish is – apparently I pronounced everything correctly and he understood me perfectly, which I really wasn’t expecting to hear. I only did a few things wrong (e.g. saying “ingenting” instead of  “ingen”, “kommer att inte” instead of “kommer inte att”), but honestly, I was aware of most of my mistakes as soon as I made them! So it wasn’t bad at all. I was really surprised at myself. And happy, of course. Even if J thinks I’m silly for being so anxious about it in the first place. 🙂

13023615_10206622395899672_306746170_n-smallAlso, I got this great new Swedish workbook in the post today. It was only published last year – which is a massive step up from my previous go-to book, which was written in 1984. This one’s called Swedish Tutor and it’s got all sorts of exercises for writing and reading all the way up to B2 level! I haven’t used it much yet, but it looks really promising. I’ll stick a picture up for anyone who might be interested.

So that’s that. I have a lot of stuff to do in the next few weeks, but once my exams are finished, that’s it! The first year of university, done. And then I’ll be able to see J again.

Vi hörs sen!

 

4 thoughts on “Day 11: Mer framsteg!

    • Tack Gareth! I’m feeling a little better about it all now, but I’ve still got to overcome a few more obstacles. As I said in my recording, “jag måste prata med folk, inte telefoner!”

      (P.S. Jag såg din flickvän på din instagram igår. Hon verkar jättesöt! :))

Leave a Reply

