Notes

Six days into Duolingo and so far so good! I’ve completed 12 skills on my tree (out of what currently seems like an infinite amount) and I’m almost at Level 8 (levelling up is a lot harder than I thought it would be!)

In regards to how much I’ve learnt… I wouldn’t say I’ve amassed a whole lot of new knowledge (except perhaps words for items of clothing and certain animals) as I’ve spent a lot of time “strengthening” completed skill sections rather than moving onto the next one immediately. Rather, Duolingo has helped broaden my understanding of the basics and iron out a lot of little niggles that I couldn’t quite get my head around before now. That’s progress, right? 🙂

Here are some notes I’ve picked up in the last few days from my own observations and other’s advice: [read more]

  1. In Swedish, “a cup of sugar” is just “en kopp socker” without the preposition
  2. What’s the difference between inget, ingen and inga? Inget = ett singular, ingen = en singular, inga = plural. For example, ett svar -> inget svar
  3. Pronouncing ‘och’: It’s usually pronounced with the ‘ch’ silent as the robot voice does on Duolingo, so that it sounds similar to the Swedish ‘å’. You’d say it with the ‘ch’ like a hard k if you’re speaking articulately, or when you want to put emphasis on the ‘och’
  4. ‘Gillar’ or ‘tycker om’? They mean the same (“like”) but “tycker om” is slightly more formal. I’d normally use “gillar” but there is no right or wrong. “Tycker om” could also translate to what you think of something. i.e. Vad tycker du om honom? = What do you think of him? “What is your opinion on him?” (lit. What think you of him?)
  5. Er is the plural form of you, referring to several people. When referring to just a single person, use dig.
  6. Du or dig? They both mean “you“, but “du” is used for the subject of a sentence and “dig” is used for the object. Similar to English third-person pronouns “He/She” for subject case and “Him/Her” for object case. i.e. ‘I love you’ ‘Jag älskar dig’ and ‘You are eating’ ‘Du äter’
  7. Har på sig = “have on” “are wearing”
  8. ‘Finns det’ in means ‘Is there’ and ‘Det finns’ means ‘there is’
  9. Barnets hundar = The child’s dogs | Barnens hundar = The children’s dogs (This really confused me at first!)
  10. En vit hus – a white house | Ett vitt vin  – a white wine | Flera vita kläder – several white clothes
3 thoughts on “Notes

  1. It’s so great that you have learned so much from that app. And strengthening skills is more or less the best thing to do – because what you learn at first usually comes around back so much later on.

    Also, If I may correct you on the 5th one. It’s true what’s standing there. But “Er” can also be used when formally talking to a single person. Like; “Is this your book (name)?” -> “Är det här er bok (namn)?”

    • Totally agree with you. If I wasn’t going over the same sections daily, I’d have forgotten most of it by now! And thank you for the correction, anything new I can learn is greatly appreciated 🙂

      Just wondering though: when you say “formally”, how formal do you mean? In what kind of situations would you use “er” in that way?

      • Yeah I totally understand that!

        Oh thats kind of hard to answer since it really just depends on the situation really. It can be to anyone, but people rarely use it all that much anymore 🙂

Leave a Reply

