Duolingo

The journey begins!

A few weeks ago, I stumbled across Duolingo – a fairly new language learning website – and was excited to see they had a Swedish course very near to completion. Today, it finally entered beta!

I’ve been exploring the course for a few hours now and, so far, it’s been a lot of fun! You have a language “tree”, where you begin with the basics and branch out into more complex sections as you progress, earning XP and levelling up. You listen to, repeat and type out translations, learning new words and strengthening skills until they are “golden” – eventually, when all sections are complete, you earn a trophy! This game-based system makes a refreshing change from textbook learning and I feel like it’s something I may actually enjoy enough to revisit every single day, which you are encouraged to do in order to achieve “streaks”.

It has a very similar feel to Rosetta Stone, which I’ve also tried, but without the extortionate price tag. In fact, Duolingo is completely free! You can see a video here that explains why.

All in all, I’m feeling pretty enthusiastic about all of this. Time to build up a few weeks of progress and we’ll see how much I learn!

7 thoughts on “Duolingo

  1. Oh my gosh! I am sooo happy you posted this. I love duolingo! I use it for Spanish and German. I didn’t even know they had Swedish in beta. I’m playing now haha. It’s a nice review so far since I haven’t actually studied Swedish since July.

    • I only made my account yesterday evening when the Swedish course was released. I wish I’d discovered it sooner, it’s already proving so useful! And I’m glad my post helped 😀

Leave a Reply

