A New Year

This may be a little late 14 days to be precise but I’m going to roll with it anyway.

Gott nytt år alla!! I hope you all had a happy Christmas and that 2014 has been good to you thus far! 🙂

I don’t really have a reason for my recent inactivity, but I thought I might as well write an update whilst I have the energy. It turns out I did eventually pluck up the courage to go to the julbord I mentioned back in December! And though I did put a metaphorical foot in my mouth a few times throughout the evening, it was actually a lot of fun. I got to speak to native Swedes as well as people who, like me, are trying to learn their language – they were quite a bit ahead of me and were actually able to hold a conversation in Swedish, but I just have to cling to the hope that I’ll get there eventually!600_317033712

Oh, and I can’t forget the julbord itself! Seafood up to the ceiling, an enormous Christmas ham, a plethora of meats and cheeses, potatoes, a vat of lingonberry jam (did I just write a poem?) – and the mother of all dessert tables which I was personally responsible for demolishing – it was brilliant! The only downside was that I couldn’t possibly have tried everything without bursting! Hopefully I’ll be able to convince my family to come with me next year.

The only thing that’s really concerning me lately is my apparent inability to actually SPEAK Swedish. Though I told myself that I would at least try to use some of the language at the julbord, the second someone asked me “heter du Jade?” I immediately panicked and a meek little “yes” came tumbling out. It’s so infuriating!  My boyfriend is trying to help me, though. Just before he went home (after spending Christmas here in England), he gave me a Swedish keyboard and set me some “homework” – I have to send him a email, written in Swedish, introducing myself and talking a little about my family and interests. And then I have read it out loud to him on Skype! This is what I’ve managed thus far:

Hej! Jag heter Jade. Jag är sjutton år och jag bor i Storbritannien. 

Aaaaand that’s it. It may be look depressing, but considering I wouldn’t have understood any of that a few months ago, I’m still counting it as an achievement! Learning how to describe people and activities is clearly the next logical step on my to-do list.

I’m trying not to let my slow progress get me down. Living on a world as beautiful as we do, it seems a silly thing to get upset about 🙂

4 thoughts on “A New Year

    • Tack! I’m glad someone thinks I’m doing OK – it seems that no matter how much J tries to convince me otherwise, possessing even a modicum of fluency in Swedish still feels like a far off and near-impossible dream. Just thinking about having a conversation in anything other than English makes my stomach turn!

Leave a Reply

