I’m really struggling right now

I feel like there’s some process to learning a language that I just can’t get my head around. All the ‘advice’ I’ve found online just seems to be one big contradiction. Some people say you should learn the ‘basics’ first (e.g. grammar rules and set phrases), yet others say you should just try to speak it and eventually things just ‘fall into place’ (what, you just suddenly realise you understand?)

Both of these pathways seem to do nothing for me – I’ve been trying for months now and I still feel like I’m back right where I started. I wish I at least had some sense of direction and I could stop wandering so blindly…

3 thoughts on “I’m really struggling right now

  1. Hi Jade,

    I know exactly what you mean… It’s so hard to know where to start. When I first started learning Swedish I felt I was just bumbling about and not really learning anything. I was lucky enough to find a beginners Swedish course which really helped focus studying. The course uses a book called Mål, here is a link:
    http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/education/mal-(reviderad)-book-and-cd,-9789127506091

    (you may find it cheaper in Sweden i’m not sure. Also this it the version I have, but they recently updated it) It is a little pricey, but so useful. It starts slowly, with basic greetings, grammar, numbers etc…
    Then picks up the pace and introduces more grammar and dialogues.
    The book is specifically designed for immigrants to learn Swedish. Something like this may help you focus your studying a bit… It did for me. I am still only beginning to grasp the language, but I am making progress (slowly).
    I also love an app called ‘go swedish’ there are also youtube videos under the same name.

    I hope this is helpful,
    best of luck
    Hannah

  2. Tell me about it. I’m trying to learn Swedish using Rosetta Stone and it’s all “trial and error” and “process of elimination” and I hate that kind of learning. I need the rules. Not pictures.

  3. Hmmm…I learnt my Swedish in school, so would imagine it is trickier trying to do it yourself. I would say a bit of both. I know people that never formally studied Swedish but just picked it up as they went along. It’s like if someone asks you to explain a grammar rule in English, often you just don’t know why it’s like it is. Same with learning Swedish as you go along – you begin to instinctively know what sounds right. Try not to put too much pressure on yourself (I love how I can say that to you but do the very same thing myself!), but it’s true. And yes, it will come 🙂

Leave a Reply

