Though I’ve been ‘planning’ to learn Swedish for a few months now, the last few days have been when I’ve started to make a real effort. I want to learn as much as I can before I go back to college – as once my second year of sixth form begins, any hope of free time is essentially non-existent and this whole project is going to have to sit on the backburner for a while.

I feel like I’ve made a little progress today, and I’m pretty pleased with myself. I’ve memorised the numbers 0-10 (and had a fair go at numbers 10-100), days of the week, months of the year, as well as some vocabulary related to dates & days. All of this has gone into my Anki flashcard deck & I’m going to pop a few words down in this post too.

igår (or is it i går? I’m a bit confused about that)

idag | imorgondagvecka | månadår | 

I absolutely love the sound of the letter “å” – it’s so much fun to say! But sadly I’m struggling with the pronunciation of a lot of other things I’ve learnt. For example the word for ‘seven’, sju – or the word for ‘yourself’, själv. I also find it really hard to say ‘twenty’ – tjugo. I just can’t get those damn sj or tj sounds right! I’ve discovered that I’m also unable to roll my R’s, but I’m hoping I’ll get the hang of it with practise.

4 thoughts on “

  1. It is so tricky, isn’t it? I can’t manage dj together, for example, djur (animal) and I have never fully got to grips with ä, ö or å. My partner sniggers when I try 🙂

    • Hi there! I’m really grateful you took the time to comment on my post, I half expected to be all on my own here 🙂 It is tricky indeed! And sadly I’m the type of person to let worries about pronunciation and ‘sounding silly’ hinder my progress… 😦

      • You should read my blog – it doesn’t get an easier if you are the kind of person who cares what others think! It’s my biggest hurdle and it really is tough. I wish I could be carefree like others are and I get fed up with people constantly telling me that others don’t care if I get it wrong. I care! 🙂

  2. The d in ‘djur’ isn’t pronounced at all. It’s like the H in hjul. Don’t you find it difficult to get the Swedish u-sound right? I’ve heard many having problems with that.

    I went the other way around … Swedish to English, and in the beginning I made a few mistakes with the J vs. Y. Yale vs. jail for example LOL…

Leave a Reply

